The Resource Impossible causes, Julie Mayhew

Impossible causes, Julie Mayhew

Label
Impossible causes
Title
Impossible causes
Statement of responsibility
Julie Mayhew
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Tone
Writing style
Review
  • YA author Mayhew’s first adult thriller opens with an unidentified body being found on the island of Lark, off the English coast, where the inhabitants live far from the mainland in body and spirit. Our protagonist is teenager Viola, who moves to Lark at the start of the book with her mentally ill mother. The Christian fundamentalist sect living on the island—nameless, but familiar to anyone who’s read Puritan history—is stifling and unforgiving, especially toward women and girls. Viola wants desperately to fit in, but she and her mother are objects of suspicion from the start. Soon Viola starts spying on a group of girls thought to be witches who form a forbidden bond with a handsome teacher who’s also new to the island. When a dead man is found at one of the girls' meeting places, religious and social tensions boil over. While the narrative jumps back and forth in time can be muddling, the novel effectively probes the teenage psyche while offering a compelling look at the perils of an insular society. A great read-alike for Malin Persson Giolito’s Quicksand (2017) and the Netflix series it spawned. -- Henrietta Verma (Reviewed 9/15/2019) (Booklist, vol 116, number 2, p25)
  • YA author Mayhew (The Big Lie) makes her adult debut with an atmospheric, if disjointed, thriller set on Lark, an isolated island off the English coast that’s home to St. Rita’s School. Teenager Viola Kendrick and her mother come to Lark to escape a family tragedy that has shattered them, arriving on the last boat before the fog descends that cuts off the island from the mainland for seven months. Viola spies on the three “Eldest Girls” from St. Rita’s, who spend their time in the hills performing rituals and fantasizing about sex. Unlike the black hair of the Lark natives, Viola’s vibrant red locks label her a “coycrock,” or intruder from the mainland. She longs to be accepted by the elders, and eventually is. Meanwhile, handsome Ben Hailey, St. Rita’s only male teacher, and Leah Cedars, the school’s head teacher, fall in love, creating petty jealousies that lead to murder. The characters’ indistinguishable sameness and awkward shifts between past and present will have readers scrambling to keep the story straight and understand whose voice is telling it. That said, Mayhew delivers some memorably creepy moments. Agent: Louise Lamont, LBA Books. (Nov.) --Staff (Reviewed 09/02/2019) (Publishers Weekly, vol 266, issue 35, p)
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10822459
Cataloging source
PABRO
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Mayhew, Julie
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR6113.A94
LC item number
I47 2019
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Island life
  • Secrecy
  • Paganism
Label
Impossible causes, Julie Mayhew
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
25 cm
Extent
410 pages
Isbn
9781635573251
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
(OCoLC)1042352048
Label
Impossible causes, Julie Mayhew
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
25 cm
Extent
410 pages
Isbn
9781635573251
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
(OCoLC)1042352048

Library Locations

    • Alpharetta BranchBorrow it
      10 Park Plaza, Alpharetta, GA, 30009, US
      34.073948 -84.292303
    • College Park BranchBorrow it
      3647 Main Street, College Park, GA, 30337, US
      33.655687 -84.449745
    • Dogwood BranchBorrow it
      1838 Donald Lee Hollowell Pkway NW, Atlanta, GA, 30318, US
      33.774065 -84.447005
    • East Roswell BranchBorrow it
      2301 Holcomb Bridge Road, Roswell, GA, 30076, US
      34.002886 -84.294341
    • Northwest at Scotts CrossingBorrow it
      2489 Perry Boulevard NW, Atlanta, GA, 30318, US
      33.804977 -84.469556
    • Roswell BranchBorrow it
      115 Norcross Street, Roswell, GA, 30075, US
      34.025015 -84.357937
    • Sandy Springs BranchBorrow it
      395 Mount Vernon Hwy, Sandy Springs, GA, 30328, US
      33.923975 -84.374292
    • Southeast Atlanta BranchBorrow it
      1463 Pryor Road, Atlanta, GA, 30315, US
      33.714794 -84.394275
Processing Feedback ...