The Resource Quinny & Hopper, written by Adriana Brad Schanen ; illustrated by Greg Swearingen

Quinny & Hopper, written by Adriana Brad Schanen ; illustrated by Greg Swearingen

Label
Quinny & Hopper
Title
Quinny & Hopper
Statement of responsibility
written by Adriana Brad Schanen ; illustrated by Greg Swearingen
Title variation
Quinny and Hopper
Creator
Contributor
Illustrator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"Two polar-opposite eight year olds who become summer best friends find their friendship threatened by the uncertainties of a new school year"--
Member of
Storyline
Tone
Character
Award
Beverly Cleary Children’s Choice Award (Oregon), 2017.
Review
  • Grades 2-5 Uprooted from her apartment in New York City, spirited Quinny and her two annoying little sisters land in the country. Quinny is not happy. The list of things she misses about the bustling city is very, very, extra-very long and includes tae kwon do and accordion lessons. Things look up when she spies a couple of exciting new things: a black-and-white striped chicken and a quiet boy next door named Hopper. Hopper is nothing like Quinny. He prefers low-key activities, like art, that no one in his family except his grandfather understands. Their friendship has a rough start, thanks to bullying older brothers, Quinny’s martial-arts training, and a broken vase. Soon though, they are fast friends, scheming to reunite the chicken with its former owner. But they hit another rough spell when school starts and Quinny becomes friends with a mean girl. Quinny and Hopper narrate alternating chapters, each with a strong voice, spot-on language and emotions, and charming black-and-white spot illustrations. Funny, honest, and fast paced, this book about friendship should have wide appeal. -- Harold, Suzanne (Reviewed 07-01-2014) (Booklist, vol 110, number 21, p75)
  • Gr 3 – 5 — Eight-year-old Quinny reluctantly moves from New York City to the "middle of nowhere," also known as Whisper Valley. On arrival, she decides that the new town and anything involving the new house are no fun. Longing for a new friend, she introduces herself to Hopper, the boy next store who "appears to be her size." Hopper is a little leery about having a girl for a friend, yet he is enamored with Quinny's big smile and "cheeks with holes." When they get together, high jinks ensue. This likable twosome have endless adventures, such as trying to catch Freya, the chicken; climbing trees; and juggling. It isn't until mean Victoria comes around spouting her rules for third grade that Quinny questions her friendship with Hopper. According to Victoria, boys play with boys and girls play with girls. Meanwhile, Hopper is dreading the prospect of returning to school for another friendless year. Little do the two know that school holds surprises for both of them. This is a delightful, amusing chapter book with lively, relatable characters. Black-and-white drawings add to the overall mood of the story. Fans of Sara Pennypacker's Clementine and Judy Blume's Super Fudge will flock to this entertaining chapter book.—Megan McGinnis, Sachem Public Library, Holbrook, NY --Megan McGinnis (Reviewed May 1, 2014) (School Library Journal, vol 60, issue 5, p93)
  • When eight-year-old Quinny Bumble and her family move from New York City to “middle of nowhere” Whisper Valley, she hits the town like a tornado, rushing in to find action the second they pull into the driveway. Hopper Grey, Quinny’s shy neighbor, is frequently picked on by his two older brothers and happiest alone in his room building models. As rambunctious, talkative Quinny introduces Hopper to the joys of spraying his older brothers with the hose and trying to save a stray chicken named Freya, he discovers that life beyond his bedroom can be pretty great. When school approaches, Hopper fears Quinny will discover he’s a friendless loser, but it’s Quinny who struggles as third grade begins, while Hopper begins to come into his own. First-time children’s author Schanen skillfully captures Quinny’s zest and Hopper’s timidity through their interactions and alternating narratives, and Swearingen’s smudgy spot illustrations amplify the lively tone. The story’s best moments showcase the spirited friendship between Quinny and Hopper, but there’s much to appreciate throughout this exuberant debut. Ages 8–12. Author’s agent: Quinlan Lee, Adams Literary. (June) --Staff (Reviewed April 14, 2014) (Publishers Weekly, vol 261, issue 15, p)
  • Two 8-year-olds with opposite temperaments and personalities make friends.Quinny, who has a big, irrepressible personality, moves from New York City to the small town of Whisper Valley with her family: her working mother, stay-at-home dad (enlighteningly rendered without comment) and two younger sisters. They move in next door to the quiet, scientifically minded, bookish Hopper, who is bullied by his two older, soccer-playing twin brothers. Late in the book, a more-assertive Hopper hits one of his brothers. His mother rebukes him, remonstrating that "we don't punch people in this family." Readers will cheer at Hopper's funny, dead-on response: "Sure we do. Where have you been?" There's not a lot of plot in this lightly amusing slice-of-summer novel—Quinny and Hopper make friends, catch and return a chicken to its rightful owner, have a fight, start third grade and make up—but the book is engrossing, and the likable duo change and grow in believable ways. Quinny and Hopper, who take turns narrating, have distinct, well-differentiated voices, and Schanen makes good use of her individuated secondary characters as well. Swearingen's black-and-white drawings both capture the spirit of the characters and enhance the narrative.This endearing story about true friendship should appeal equally to boys and girls. (Fiction. 7-10)(Kirkus Reviews, May 15, 2014)
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10318631
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Schanen, Adriana Brad
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
no index present
LC call number
PZ7.S33376
LC item number
Qui 2014
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/minGradeLevel
  • 3
  • 5
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorDate
1976-
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Swearingen, Greg
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Quinny & Hopper
Series volume
0001
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Best friends
  • Friendships
  • Individuality
  • Peer pressure
  • Schools
  • Neighbors
  • Humorous stories
Target audience
pre adolescent
Label
Quinny & Hopper, written by Adriana Brad Schanen ; illustrated by Greg Swearingen
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
230 pages
Isbn
9781423178293
Lccn
2013050369
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
  • (Sirsi) o860757089
  • (OCoLC)860757089
Label
Quinny & Hopper, written by Adriana Brad Schanen ; illustrated by Greg Swearingen
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
230 pages
Isbn
9781423178293
Lccn
2013050369
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
  • (Sirsi) o860757089
  • (OCoLC)860757089

Library Locations

    • Alpharetta BranchBorrow it
      10 Park Plaza, Alpharetta, GA, 30009, US
      34.073948 -84.292303
    • East Roswell BranchBorrow it
      2301 Holcomb Bridge Road, Roswell, GA, 30076, US
      34.002886 -84.294341
    • Fairburn Hobgood-PalmerBorrow it
      60 Valley View Drive, Fairburn, GA, 30311, US
      33.566783 -84.584948
    • Metropolitan BranchBorrow it
      1332 Metropolitan Parkway, Atlanta, GA, 30310, US
      33.718804 -84.407351
    • Milton BranchBorrow it
      855 Mayfield Rd, Milton, GA, 30009, US
      34.090136 -84.336532
    • Northwest at Scotts CrossingBorrow it
      2489 Perry Boulevard NW, Atlanta, GA, 30318, US
      33.804977 -84.469556
    • Southeast Atlanta BranchBorrow it
      1463 Pryor Road, Atlanta, GA, 30315, US
      33.714794 -84.394275
    • South Fulton BranchBorrow it
      4055 Flat Shoals Road, Union City, GA, 30291, US
      33.587797 -84.51959
Processing Feedback ...