The Resource The rules of love & grammar : a novel, Mary Simses

The rules of love & grammar : a novel, Mary Simses

Label
The rules of love & grammar : a novel
Title
The rules of love & grammar
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Mary Simses
Title variation
Rules of love and grammar
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Storyline
Writing style
Character
Review
  • Grace Hammond is absolutely positive that bad luck comes in threes. She’s out of a job, her boyfriend just dumped her for a cute paralegal, and there’s a major water leak in her Manhattan apartment building. Grace heads back to her hometown of Dorset, Connecticut, to regroup. Her parents and best friend, Cluny, are thrilled to see her, but Grace just wants to lay low until her apartment is repaired. And lay low she does—until she hears that an old flame is directing a new movie currently filming in Dorset. Completely unsure of her future, Grace wonders if her past holds all the answers. The type-A heroine floundering in her hometown is a familiar trope, but Simses delivers a charming and unpredictable spin on the concept. Grace’s journey of personal growth skirts the line between relatable and aspirational, as Simses contrasts the security of small-town life with Grace’s dreams of Hollywood grandeur. Fans of Mary Kay Andrews, Elin Hilderbrand, and Jennifer Close will adore the picturesque setting, genuine characters, and rom-com feel. -- Turza, Stephanie (Reviewed 5/15/2016) (Booklist, vol 112, number 18, p22)
  • Grace Hammond is happiest holding a red pen and making corrections to the many grammatical errors in the world. If only she could do the same in her own life. Thirty-something copy editor Grace is facing the romantic comedy setup trifecta of misfortune: she lost her job, her boyfriend dumped her, and her roof is leaking. While her Manhattan apartment is undergoing repairs, she spends two weeks at her childhood home in Connecticut as her parents plan a big birthday celebration for dad. By happy coincidence, Grace's high school sweetheart, the one who got away, has also returned home for a few weeks. Fate has treated him more kindly, though, as he's in town directing a major feature film. In her effort to win back her lost love, Grace attempts a series of edits in her own life, failing both awkwardly and charmingly. Simses (The Irresistible Blueberry Bakeshop & Café, 2013) gives readers a protagonist they can simultaneously root for and cringe over as they read about Grace's antics. Most squirmworthy is a scene in which Grace bumbles through a TV news interview about the bike shop where she's temporarily employed, clumsily suggesting it would be lost without her. Despite her many social gaffes, Grace has three eligible bachelors pursuing her, and it's no surprise which one she ultimately chooses. Despite the lack of suspense, the story has real heart and emotional grit, primarily because of the rich and layered subplot about Grace's sister's fatal auto accident as a teen. After 17 years, Grace still blames herself and would love nothing more than a rewrite of that fateful night. Alas, there is no red pen for her greatest mistake. In this sweet and heartfelt story, Simses provides a valuable lesson in the futility of striving for an error-free book of life. A lovely read.(Kirkus Reviews, April 1, 2016)
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10484337
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Simses, Mary
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3619.I5667
LC item number
R85 2016
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Single women
  • Man-woman relationships
  • Families
Label
The rules of love & grammar : a novel, Mary Simses
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
368 pages
Isbn
9780316382069
Lccn
2015958956
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • (Sirsi) o921166505
  • (OCoLC)921166505
Label
The rules of love & grammar : a novel, Mary Simses
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
368 pages
Isbn
9780316382069
Lccn
2015958956
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • (Sirsi) o921166505
  • (OCoLC)921166505

Library Locations

    • East Atlanta BranchBorrow it
      400 Flat Shoals Ave. SE, Atlanta, GA, 30316, US
      33.743146 -84.348283
    • Kirkwood BranchBorrow it
      11 Kirkwood Road SE, Atlanta, GA, 30317, US
      33.751446 -84.321255
    • Milton BranchBorrow it
      855 Mayfield Rd, Milton, GA, 30009, US
      34.090136 -84.336532
    • Northeast Spruill Oaks BranchBorrow it
      9560 Spruill Road, John Creeks, GA, 30022, US
      34.014211 -84.22433
    • Northwest at Scotts CrossingBorrow it
      2489 Perry Boulevard NW, Atlanta, GA, 30318, US
      33.804977 -84.469556
    • Roswell BranchBorrow it
      115 Norcross Street, Roswell, GA, 30075, US
      34.025015 -84.357937
    • South Fulton BranchBorrow it
      4055 Flat Shoals Road, Union City, GA, 30291, US
      33.587797 -84.51959
    • Southwest BranchBorrow it
      3665 Cascade Road SW, Atlanta, GA, 30331, US
      33.724419 -84.506745
    • Wolf Creek BranchBorrow it
      3100 Enon Road, Atlanta, GA, 30331, US
      33.672616 -84.574193
Processing Feedback ...